Move It Monday: Push-Ups & Mondetta Performance Gear Review

by tinareale on October 29, 2012

Good morning! Did you have a nice weekend? I sure hope you did. We certainly enjoyed ourselves with a fairly relaxing one before some house projects have to start back up and consume our lives again. Hopefully they will get done quickly and be the last of them for a long while. At least we had this weekend to enjoy, though!

Every year around this time we have a family tradition of going to Helen, Georgia for the day. This year is the perfect time since it includes so much beautiful fall foliage as scenery. We first grabbed some lunch for a picnic by the river, with this view to enjoy.

20121027_130637

Then again, I think I like these views better.

20121027_130623

20121027_130653

Too cute for words, wouldn’t you say?

From there, we spent a bit of time walking around the town of Helen. As usual, there was lots of good people watching (it is Oktoberfest there, after all) and fun shops to visit. We, of course, made sure to visit our favorite shops, the glass blowing shop and the fudge shop.

20121027_143310

20121027_143336

We always get one piece to share as a family. This year we chose praline pecan and it was fabulous. To top off our weekend fun, we hung out for a bit at the park before heading back as the kids were getting tired.

20121027_132444

I do love this family tradition!

Now that we’re caught up on the weekend, I have some Move It Monday fun to share with you! The featured move this week….push-ups!

I love me some push-ups. Heads up that if you ever do one of my personal training plans or participate in Best Body Bootcamp…you WILL be doing push-ups. They are such a great overall exercise for the upper body and the core as well. You know I don’t stick with the standard move, though. That would get old after awhile. Plus, it’s never a bad thing to switch up your exercises to give your body a little extra challenge factor. Let’s do just that with today’s Move It Monday video…featuring 5 different variations to spice up your push-ups and work your way to an even stronger and more defined upper body.

5 Push-Up Variations

  • Tempo Push-Ups
  • One Leg Push-Ups
  • Push-Ups with Rotation
  • Staggered Push-Ups (uses medicine ball in video, but could also use a 4”-8” step)
  • Decline Stability Ball Push-Ups

I also have an extra little video for you today. In the push-ups video, I’m wearing some new workout apparel I received from Mondetta Performance Gear. As I mention in the video below, it seems I have lucked out to receive lots of new gear in the past few weeks. Since I practically live in fitness apparel, I’m always on the lookout for functional, flattering, and comfortable apparel and figure you may be as well.

Since many of you may not know as much about Mondetta, I filmed a short review video so you can see what the gear looks like on and hear my thoughts about it. In sum, I like it a lot and find it an extremely flattering and stylish line that has worked well for any workout I have put it through. Check out the rest of my thoughts in the video below!

Links to Gear I Mention

Other Images in Gear

Your Turn – Do you ever do different varieties of push-ups? Have a favorite version?

Disclaimer: I received the Mondetta Performance Gear outfits free for review through FitFluential LLC. All opinions expressed are my own.

{ 23 comments }

1 Linz @ Itz Linz October 29, 2012 at 7:59 am

The only type of push up variation I do is on my knees haha I am working on my upper body strength….. Going slowly………

2 Lauren October 29, 2012 at 8:10 am

What a beautiful family! :) Glad you had a great weekend spending time with your loves.

3 Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean October 29, 2012 at 8:12 am

loving the one footed pushup lately!

4 Katie @ Talk Less, Say More October 29, 2012 at 8:31 am

Love the variations to push-ups but for now my pushups are on my knees…but I’m working on it! Promise! ;)

5 Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table October 29, 2012 at 8:41 am

I loooove push ups! Since I started training, I’ve missed my daily 100 (is that weird?).

One of my favorite things to do is one-legged burpees (with the push up). Such a great upper body and core workout addition!

6 Sarah @ Blonde Bostonian October 29, 2012 at 9:03 am

Your little babies are so adorable I can’t even stand it!

Great push-up variations! I started doing pushups with one hand on the bosu ball and oh boy, that one kills me every time.

7 Amanda @ Romancing the Unusual October 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

I am terrible at push-ups! I really need to work on this and my upper body strength in general. I will get there one day! ;)

8 Erica { EricaDHouse.com } October 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

Every month I set a new push-up goal for myself but I’ve been getting bored with just doing the traditional variety – can’t wait to try these!

9 Beckett @ The Birchwood Pie Project October 29, 2012 at 10:08 am

My New Year’s resolution this year was to master “boy” pushups. At first I could only manage 4 at a time, but I’ve built to 30-40 with each workout in sets of 10-15. I never thought I’d say this, but they’re starting to get easy. My first experience with any other kind was the 1=legged ones from bootcamp. Much harder! Looking forward to taking my pushup journey to the next level!

10 molly @ heart, sole & cereal October 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

that tradition sounds like so much fun! i love family traditions, especially ones that mean quality time with the people you love. and i am terrible at push-ups…hopefully i’ll change that a little with boot camp! i think my favorite variety are probably push-ups with rows…they make me feel like a bad ass!

11 Bethany @ Accidental Intentions October 29, 2012 at 10:28 am

If “from the knees” counts as a pushup variation, then you better believe I’m all about pushup variations haha. I’ve gotten a lot better over the years at doing full pushups, but that’s about as hardcore as I’m able to go in the pushup world right now.

12 Jess October 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

Ohh I love the pushup with rotation idea! I am totally stealing that for my next class, hehe — my clients will hate me! I personally LOVE LOVE LOVE pushups, they are SO intense but work so well. My personal favorite is a variation on the tempo pushup you describe — start one inch off the ground and pulse up an inch, down an inch, up and inch down an inch for 8 counts. then come up to half way off the ground and come up halfway and down, up halfway and down for another 8 counts. And then go to full-range pushups – for another 8 counts. Repeat that series three times through…and promptly collapse on your mat ;-) (I do this version on my knees because it’s an intense series)

13 tinareale October 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm

That sounds crazy intense!

14 Lauren @ Oatmeal after Spinning October 29, 2012 at 1:39 pm

What a fun tradition- and such pretty scenery!
I love the push-up variations- I’m going to try them ALL tomorrow morning (especially since both of my classes are canceled tomorrow morning- I’ll need a good at-home workout!)- and I’m going to make my husband do them too!
I must say- you look GREAT in that video- the workout gear is VERY flattering, but DANG girl- those triceps and that booty! Oww!!

15 Maria October 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Who replaced your baby boy with that adorable little toddler? What a little stud muffin!

Now that my lower body is kind of out of commission, I have been keeping up with push ups and pull ups as much as possible. Having some variation will definitely help keep it from getting boring – so thank you!

16 Annette@FitnessPerks October 29, 2012 at 2:28 pm

I love pushups! I like to do decline ones. I also love medicine ball /unstable ones–killer.

17 Amanda @RunToTheFinish October 29, 2012 at 5:03 pm

oh i totally needed this! I have been doing a lot of push ups, but definitely need to add some variety

18 Fiona @ Get Fit Fiona October 29, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Love the push-up variations – thanks for sharing them!

19 Erin @ Girl Gone Veggie October 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm

I still can’t do a proper push up. My upper arm strength is nonexistent, I’m working on toning up there for my wedding so I can rock a strapless dress! All that workout gear is adorable! And I love that it’s functional!

20 purelymichelle October 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm

must be a sign for me to do some pushups, as Jess (BlondePonytail) shared how to do a pushup too!

21 Natalie @ FreshLifeFindings October 30, 2012 at 9:04 am

I’m having a love/hate relationship with the one legged push=ups. They are killing me in a good way :) Also, Helen is so beautiful this time of year! I haven’t been in a while but I should go before the leaves are gone!

22 Rachel B - Busy Mama November 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

I LOOOOVE push-ups and the push-ups with a rotation to side plank are one of my favorites. Definitely going to be trying the staggered push-ups and tempo! Always looking for some fun ways to switch things up with push-ups. Speaking of, have you ever tried a dive-bomb push-up? Those are some crazy fun!

23 tinareale November 4, 2012 at 5:36 am

Yes! Dive bombers are killer!

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: